Vingerhoedje

Chapter One

One night I was sitting on the bed in my hotel room on Bunker Hill, down in the very middle of Los Angeles. It was an important night in my life, because I had to make a decision about the hotel. Either I paid up or I got out: that was what the note said, the note the landlady had put under my door. A great problem, deserving acute attention. I solved it by turning out the lights and going to bed.

John Fante
Ask The Dust
Black Sparrow Press 2000 (copyright © 1939, 1980 by John Fante)

Lorn
Ask The Dust
Ninja Tune, 2012

3 gedachtes over “Vingerhoedje

  1. Niets in dit vingerhoedje zei me wat. Dat kan natuurlijk, want een mens kan niet alles weten…
    Toen eerst maar het clipje bekeken en beluisterd. Zowel visueel als auditief prachtig. Die graphics deden me denken aan die tekenaar die voor The Wall van Pink Floyd het artwork verzorgde, maar dan nog donkerder. De muziek is ook fijn spookachtig: een soort grote stadmuziek. Ik moest ook aan Burial en Flying Lotus denken.
    Toch even wat gegoogled, want je maakte me wel nieuwsgierig. Intussen weet ik meer over de schrijver John Fante, Lorn en diens laatste album. Dank, Wim!

Reacties zijn gesloten.